Kentucky is the first U.S. state to mandate Tesla’s charging standard

The state of Kentucky is requiring electric vehicle charging companies to include Tesla’s plug if they want to be part of a state program to electrify highways using federal dollars.

Kentucky’s mandate took effect on June 30th, making it the first state to require Tesla’s charging technology, despite Texas and Washington’s announcement with similar plans.

According to Kentucky’s request for proposals (RFP) for the state’s EV charging program released on June 30th, in addition to federal regulations for the competing Combined Charging System (CCS), Kentucky mandates Tesla’s plug, known as the North American Charging Standard (NACS), at charging stations.