The Fourth Annual National Mobility Summit of US Department of Transportation University Transportation Centers

Innovating Mobility for All

March 16, 2023 in Washington, D.C.




Keynote Session:  UTCs and Transformational Research

Keynote Speaker – Alasdair Cain, Director of Research, Development and Technology Coordination, USDOT

  • Maryam Allahyar, Director, Research & Development, Office of Research, Development & Technology, Federal Railroad Administration, USDOT
  • Brian Cronin, Director, Office of Safety and Operations R&D, Federal Highway Administration, USDOT
  • Tom Keane, Associate Administrator, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, USDOT
  • David Schneider, Acting Deputy Associate Administrator, Office of Research, Demonstration, and Innovation, Federal Transit Administration, USDOT
  • Egan Smith, Managing Director, Intelligent Transportation Systems Joint Program Office, USDOT
  • Nanda Srinivasan, Associate Administrator, Research and Program Development, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, USDOT


Workforce Development – UTC Innovations and Impacts

  • Tom O’Brien, Executive Director, California State University, Long Beach College of Professional and Continuing Education Center for International Trade and Transportation
  • Nick Geale, Vice President for Workforce Policy, American Trucking Associations
  • Sarah Fox, Assistant Professor Human-Computer Interaction Institute, & Nik Martelaro, Assistant Professor Human-Computer Interaction Institute, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Matt Colvin, Chief of Staff, Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO
  • Hilary Nixon, Deputy Executive Director, Mineta Transportation Institute
  • Carita Ducre, Vice President for Workforce Development and Education Services, APTA


Equity – UTC Innovations and Impacts

  • Arlando Teller, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Tribal Affairs, USDOT 
  • David Kack, Director, Western Transportation Institute and the Program Manager for Mobility and Public Transportation
  • Carol Tyson, Government Affairs Liaison, Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund
  • Steven Polzin, Deputy Director at the TOMNET UTC at Arizona State University, TOMNET UTC
  • April Rai, President & CEO, COMTO


Environment/Climate Change – UTC Innovations and Impacts

  • Richard Ezike, Program Communication Specialist, Joint Office of Energy and Transportation 
  • Ralph Buehler, Professor and Chair at Virginia Tech School of Public and International Affairs (SPIA)
  • Genevieve Giuliano, Distinguished Professor, USC Sol Price School of Public Policy, Pacific West Region UTC
  • Stanley Young, Research Scientist, National Renewable Energy Laboratory


Research Showcase

Click Here to View the Day’s Presentations



Summit Flyer


Also, check out the previous National Mobility Summit Recaps: