10 teams from 21 universities compete for $1.5 million in Indy Autonomous Challenge

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway will host the first autonomous racecar competition on October 23 with algorithms driving the cars instead of humans. College students are writing the software to power the cars.

There are 10 teams representing 21 universities competing in the Indy Autonomous Challenge:

AI Racing Tech – University of Hawai’i, University of California San Diego
Autonomous Tiger Racing – Auburn University
Black & Gold Autonomous Racing – Purdue University, United States Military Academy at West Point
Cavalier Autonomous Racing – University of Virginia
EuroRacing – University of Modena and Reggio Emilia (Italy), University of Pisa (Italy), ETH Zürich (Switzerland), Polish Academy of Sciences (Poland)
IUPUI-IITKGP-USB – Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (India), Universidad de San Buenaventura (Colombia)
KAIST – Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (South Korea)
MIT-PITT-RW – Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Pittsburgh, Rochester Institute of Technology, University of Waterloo (Canada)
PoliMOVE – Politecnico di Milano (Italy), University of Alabama
TUM Autonomous Motorsport – Technische Universität München (Germany)